Surrender/Fear

Contain the disparate passions

Of this sinner’s ragged, righteous soul

Trap these fleeting dreams and fashion

Something solid, something whole.


I am cowed by all the barriers

And lured forward by a dream

That’s both skeletal and consuming

Hold my hand while fears are looming

And I’ll wade into the stream.


Put sinews on this skeleton

Breathe life into the dream

Anoint my head and joints with oil

So these stiffest joints move like a child’s

And the shield of faith absorbs my frightened scream.


Note: This poem hails from my fundraising days as I was preparing to move to Hungary, and I was terrified: terrified of fundraising, terrified of teaching, terrified of leaving America, terrified of Hungary, and yet terrified of staying where I was (which was Subway!). Those were hard days, but over and over again, Jesus sustained me. There is no other way I can explain having moved to Hungary for those three years. I was practically immobilized by my own fears – it was always his strength that moved me forward.

Leave a comment